Can vegans eat fruit roll UPS? - ProProfs Discuss
Cancel
TopicsDown
Products Down
Follow Us:
FacebookTwitter
Advertisement

Can vegans eat fruit roll-ups?

Asked by Kendrell, Last updated: Sep 20, 2020

+ Answer
Request
Question menu
Vote up Vote down

4 Answers

J.Spencer

J.Spencer

Knowledge Enthusiast, Knows A Lot of Stuff.

J.Spencer
J.Spencer, Knowledge enthusiast, Tokyo

Answered Jan 16, 2019

Yes, vegans can eat fruit roll-ups. Fruit roll-ups seem like they contain gelatin but that's far from the truth. They are made of dried fruit strips and corn syrup so they are safe for consumption. Even the coloring added is vegan and wouldn't trouble you. It's not nutritious though. It is just sugary candy.

upvote downvote
Reply 

M. Klose

M. Klose

M. Klose
M. Klose, Content Writer, Oakland

Answered Oct 24, 2018

There are some people who feel that there are no animal products available simply based on the product name. It does not always work that way. If there are other things other than fruits that are placed in fruit roll-ups, they cannot be considered to be vegan anymore.

The number of additives can determine how healthy the item is going to be. The more additives that that are added, the less healthy the product is going to be. There are a lot of people who just love fruit roll-ups. They would consume it from time to time as long as they would remember that they should only consume a small amount.

upvote downvote
Reply 

L. Hawkes

L. Hawkes

L. Hawkes
L. Hawkes, Teacher, Memphis

Answered Jul 03, 2018

Vegan foods are those which do not exploit animals in any way for the sake of humans. Fruit itself, being natural, should certainly be vegan. But if roll-ups contain more than fruit, additives of any kind, that might rule them out as far as true vegans are concerned. Fruit roll-ups may not be available outside the US.

They debuted there in grocery stores around 1983. They are a popular pectin-based fruit-flavored snack, wrapped around a piece of cellophane. The base is still made from dried sweet-tart Turkish apricots, which are ground into a paste but there really isn't much fresh fruit and there are additives.

upvote downvote
Reply 

Sophia Lee Ryan

Sophia Lee Ryan

Sophia Lee Ryan
Sophia Lee Ryan

Answered Oct 23, 2017

Fruit roll-ups are vegan, they contain absolutely no animal byproducts. With that said, they are not actually healthy for you. Fruit roll-ups are safe to eat if you are a vegan but if you are trying to be healthy you might want to go with another choice. The ingredients are not natural.

There are a lot of dyes in them in addition to corn syrup, sugar, and hydrogenated oil. If you are looking for something like a fruit roll-up but more natural and healthy there are recipes out there for making your own fruit roll-ups from real fruit that vegan, raw, and gluten-free. These natural fruit roll-ups only contain fruits, agave, and an option of Beet powder.

upvote downvote
Reply 

Advertisement
Advertisement
Search for Google images Google Image Icon
Select a recommended image
Upload from your computer Loader
Image Preview
Search for Google images Google Image Icon
Select a recommended image
Upload from your computer Loader
Image Preview
Search for Google images Google Image Icon
Select a recommended image
Upload from your computer Loader

Email Sent
We have sent an email to your address "" with instructions to reset your password.