M. Porter, Senior Executive, Master of Art, San Jose
Answered Mar 05, 2019
Not normally - we don't associate fast foods with being vegan. This doesn't mean it's impossible. You can swap meat with a plant-based patty. One tasty variety is bean and beetroot. Chipotle is a firm that is diet friendly and may include strictly vegan dishes while TacoBell has set out to do so. Dominos has one pizza that is vegan.
In the end, there is no substitute for fresh vegetables and pulses. If you're going vegan, might as well do it properly.
Most people would think that fast food restaurants contain menu items that are for vegans. However, that is not always true and it can’t always be proven whether a menu item is totally vegan. Sometimes, people will think that potatoes are vegan because they are a vegetable. However, whenever someone cooks or alters the food in any way, there is a risk that the vegetable has come in contact with a meat product.
For instance, some fried foods are cooked over and over again in the same oil. Meat could have previously been cooked in this oil before the French fries went into the oil. Restaurants will display a warning that some products do come in contact with other products.