What alcohol has gluten? - ProProfs Discuss
Advertisement

What alcohol has gluten?

Asked by D.Hadenr, Last updated: Oct 11, 2020

+ Answer
Request
Question menu
Vote up Vote down

1 Answer

d.Jessica

d.Jessica

d.Jessica
D.Jessica

Answered Sep 28, 2017

Gluten is a protein found in wheat, rye, and barley. Gluten can cause digestive problems and sometimes even permanent damage to the small intestine in people with celiac disease. Beers made with barley and hops should be avoided by those who cannot ingest gluten. It is against the law in the United States for alcohol producers to label their drink “gluten free” if they use cereal grains at any point in their production process.

Unless gluten has been added to the alcohol after the distillation process, all distilled beverages are gluten-free. When a drink is labeled “gluten free” it means it has been verified to have not used gluten ingredients at any point of their process.

upvote downvote
Reply 

Advertisement
Advertisement
Search for Google images Google Image Icon
Select a recommended image
Upload from your computer Loader
Image Preview
Search for Google images Google Image Icon
Select a recommended image
Upload from your computer Loader
Image Preview
Search for Google images Google Image Icon
Select a recommended image
Upload from your computer Loader

Email Sent
We have sent an email to your address "" with instructions to reset your password.