Is rice gluten free? - ProProfs Discuss
Advertisement

Is rice gluten-free?

Asked by T. Lopez, Last updated: Jul 16, 2020

+ Answer
Request
Question menu
Vote up Vote down

1 Answer

Daniel Drake

Daniel Drake

Daniel Drake
Daniel Drake

Answered Feb 12, 2020

Yes, rice is considered to be gluten-free. This will already include the usual types of rice, such as white rice, brown rice, wild rice, and so much more. Some people assume that rice has gluten because this is considered to be glutinous, but this only refers to the overall nature of rice because this is known to be sticky. Other grains may not be gluten-free, though like wheat, rye, and barley.

People who cannot consume gluten will usually include rice as one of the things that they can eat so that they will not worsen the symptoms that they may experience because of their disease. For instance, those with Celiac disease will eat rice as a part of their diet.

upvote downvote
Reply 

Advertisement
Advertisement
Search for Google images Google Image Icon
Select a recommended image
Upload from your computer Loader
Image Preview
Search for Google images Google Image Icon
Select a recommended image
Upload from your computer Loader
Image Preview
Search for Google images Google Image Icon
Select a recommended image
Upload from your computer Loader

Email Sent
We have sent an email to your address "" with instructions to reset your password.